The week of the sweet potato.

20110907-081546.jpg

Hard to fathom this thing below is the size of the ugly thing above. But damn those sweet potatoes are so good in fried form. Thanks Future Offspring,
now Daddy Ranman wants him some fried goodness. Maybe I’ll subtly suggest it to mommy and the cravings will overcome her with the need for nothing less than sweet potato fries.

20110907-081256.jpg

Some callouts and concerns for this big week:

According to the The Baby Center:

“…his ears are now in their final position, although they’re still standing out from his head a bit.”

2 concerns. How dare you reveal the gender of our child as a boy before we even get to check in ourselves! These articles keep dropping genders with “him” and “her”… I fall into the thinking that I go with “he” or “she” every time I speak to people who probably think I know the sex. But of greater concern are those developing ears. My race is no stranger to large ears. I can only hope that those growing listening buds are close to final and swell at a slow rate thereafter. And if I am permitted to get laser surgery on the kid right out of the womb, we’re zapping those ears from all specs of hair. Another trait of my race that I hope the child doesn’t acquire.

“If you’re having a girl, her uterus and fallopian tubes are formed and in place. If you’re having a boy, his genitals are noticeable now, but he may hide them from you during an ultrasound.”

If it’s a boy I swear that mini Ranman will do all he can to annoy us in a similar fashion as his father. I have a feeling when we go in for an ultrasound the kid will hide it’s genitalia so that we can’t guess it’s gender. Especially a boy. Us Ranmen have a history of douchebaggetry. The girl, she’ll be shy and moon us as we prod for a gender. And she’ll also take an hour to eat her meals because us Ranwomen eat at a glacial pace.

“What are Kegels?”

Well…something mommy should be practicing now to prevent drips and help with labor when it comes to pressure and pain.

I should also up the coaching game as the sweet potato begins to hear even more sounds. Now is a good time to let it know the Yanks have only 1 day off in September and its mommy’s beloved Red Sox still suck metaphorical donkey turd. What’s some good music to play for the tater?

“Types of music that is recommended for the pregnant mother and fetus are dynamics and the simple level complexity music. For example, classical music baroque era: composer Claudio Monteverdi, Henry Purcell, Johann Sebastian Bach… Lullaby characteristics such as introductory music to sleep, relaxation, can also be used as a positive stimulus for the pregnant mother and fetus.

Avoid songs with lyrics that contain the sadness, despair, or a broken heart. Instead, look for songs with positive lyrics so that pregnant women more positive thoughts, cheerful, and induce a feeling of happiness.”

That’s according to kidsparenting.net.

According to me:

20110907-062904.jpg

That’s my “wtf face” (via a google search). This kid of mine will grow on a steady diet of whiney Emo and Korn music, maybe some Beatles to ease the pain of daddy feeding himself at times before the baby. Hungry?” Listen to some “Eight Days a Week whilst I make me a sandwich.

We are slated for an ultrasound in 2 weeks. Be prepared Future Offspring, I better see what you got growing so I can start buying Batman or Care Bears.

